Piracy in general

The forum for petitions, theoretical discussion, gripes, or other off topic discussion.

Moderator: James Steele

Forum rules
The forum for petitions, theoretical discussion, gripes, or other matters outside deemed outside the scope of helping users make optimal use of MOTU hardware and software. Posts in other forums may be moved here at the moderators discretion. No politics or religion!!
jonotron
Primary DAW OS: MacOS

Piracy in general

Post by jonotron »

After reading the thread about the guy after the manual I have a few thoughts:
I work as a high school teacher, and it's interesting to note the kids opinions on piracy. A kid that I would consider as being 'good' told me he downloaded 400 songs at the weekend. This is by no means the exception.
A lot of younger people have no concept of certain products ie software and particularly music as a saleable product or having any monetary value, and efforts must be made to address this misconception.
MOTU take note though, Apple do very good deals on Logic (express) on an educational discount, less than half the normal retail price. This is a very sensible move. Current pricing of decent music software is just a little bit ambitous. Anyone out there with plugins worth more than their computer?? Reality check is in order
TheHopiWay

Post by TheHopiWay »

my plugins probably total 3 or 4 times the current value of my CPU but I fail to see your point regarding that.
I'm happy to pay for niche products that increase my workflow and profit.
jonotron

Post by jonotron »

Each to their own, I still find it strange that one single software peice can cost the same as the machine that runs it.
I look at it this way, if all my plugins were deleted and the discs fell down the toilet pan, i'd be rather annoyed!!
When my powerbook eventually dies it'll be like the loss of a good friend
James Steele
Site Administrator

Re: Piracy in general

Post by James Steele »