Hybrid studios with MOTU gear: does anyone use a mixer?

Moderator: James Steele

Forum rules
Discussion related to installation, configuration and use of MOTU hardware such as MIDI interfaces, audio interfaces, etc. for Mac OSX
billgers
Primary DAW OS: Unspecified

Hybrid studios with MOTU gear: does anyone use a mixer?

Post by billgers »

I've been working "in the box" for the past 3 years on a power mac. However, I miss my old lexicon hardware reverb and I sometimes think it might be nice to use my physical board for mixdown. Accoring to MOTU, using my lex with my 828 mk. III would require some sort of crazy kludge job whereby I would route audio into the Lex and back into the 828 and then I would have to create one fully wet mix and one fully dry mix and then merge the two mixes together for my final stereo mix. I tried this sort of thing a few years ago with the 828 internal verb (just before they released proverb) and it was a real pain. Does anyone know a better way to do that and also does anyone here use an external mixer together with a MOTU audio interface? Any recommendations on how to do this? FYI - my mixeer is a Mackie 1604 VLZ, so maybe I shouldn't be trying to rout through that thing anyway. It's just that I miss the simplicity and tactile nature of doing it that way.

-Bill
2018 Mac Mini 3.2 GHz Intel Core i7 with 32 GB RAM and 2 TB SSD
Monterey 12.6.1, DP 11.21 64 bit. Mach Five 3, Ethno 2, Omnisphere, Trillian, Stylus RMX, EWQL Play, Kontakt 5 with various libraries, Absynth 5, Sampletank 3, Realstrat 3, Alchemy 1.55, Addictive Drums, lots of other goodies.

MOTU MIDI express XT, MOTU 828 Mk.3 firewire and Novation 61 SL Mk. II
sparkyboyo

Re: Hybrid studios with MOTU gear: does anyone use a mixer?

Post by sparkyboyo »

Hullo Bill,