verb while recording?

For seeking technical help with Digital Performer and/or plug-ins on MacOS.

Moderator: James Steele

Forum rules
This forum is for seeking solutions to technical problems involving Digital Performer and/or plug-ins on MacOS, as well as feature requests, criticisms, comparison to other DAWs.
surrenderband
Primary DAW OS: Unspecified

verb while recording?

Post by surrenderband »

can i give the singer a little verb while recording but still get a dry signal to the track? im sure it has something to do with aux's but please explain exactly how, for i am a newbie. Thanks.
Shooshie
Primary DAW OS: MacOS

Post by Shooshie »

You have a couple of options.

••• If you want no latency, monitor through CueMix and run your output through a hardware reverb. CueMix mixes do not affect the dry signal you record.
••• Monitor through effects. This will cause some latency, but you can keep it low if you set your buffer for 250 or less. Use a simple reverb to keep the latency low, such as MOTU's plain-jane Reverb. (not eVerb and not Plate)

When you monitor through effects, you are monitoring the playback, not the dry signal, so don't worry about it affecting what gets recorded.

Shooshie
|l| OS X 10.12.6 |l| DP 10.0 |l| 2.4 GHz 12-Core MacPro Mid-2012 |l| 40GB RAM |l| Mach5.3 |l| Waves 9.x |l| Altiverb |l| Ivory 2 New York Steinway |l| Wallander WIVI 2.30 Winds, Brass, Saxes |l| Garritan Aria |l| VSL 5.3.1 and VSL Pro 2.3.1 |l| Yamaha WX-5 MIDI Wind Controller |l| Roland FC-300 |l|
musicarteca

Post by musicarteca »

Another possibility is to monitor through cue mix and use a send to feed and external hardware reveb, you will get latency on the returning signal, but since it is just the effect you might get just a nice pre-delay.
Alex Rodriguez
Legato Productions
www.legatoproductions.com
waxman

Post by waxman »

you will have to have a motu interface for cuemix...
waxman